Bubbys: The Best Pancakes in NYC?

Pancake Flight

With so many brunch spots to choose from in New York City, it can be difficult to find a restaurant that lives up to its hype and satisfies your early morning cravings. Touted online as having one of the best brunches in the city, I had high expectations for my weekend excursion to Bubby’s. From the moment I arrived and saw the line wrapping around the block, I knew the the hype was real. After waiting for nearly an hour outside in the scorching summer heat, my friends and I were finally seated in the bustling, homey dining room. Looking around, I saw giant stacks of pancakes on nearly every table and decided I had to find out if the pancakes tasted as delicious as they looked. Browsing the menu, however, I was faced with the difficult choice of not only which style pancake (either the light and fluffy James Beard flapjacks or the thin and chewy sourdough cakes) but also which topping (caramelized banana & toasted walnuts, blueberry, nutella & mixed berries, or chocolate chip). Then, I noticed something unique on the menu- the pancake flight which included three James Beard pancakes each with a different topping. I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to sample each of the scrumptious toppings so I ordered the pancake flight and anxiously awaited its arrival. The server soon brought over our meals, and I was in awe of the pure beauty of the pancakes. Although I was extremely hungry after our long wait, I first took photos of the Instagrammable hotcakes before digging in. As soon as I took my first bite, I knew these pancakes were truly something special. From their fluffy texture and enormous size to the perfect amount of sweetness and delicious toppings, I can say with certainty that Bubby’s pancakes are the best I have ever had. While I would re-order all three of the toppings I tried, my favorite was the blueberry pancakes. The berry compote melted right into the pancakes and was perfectly complemented by the addition of maple syrup.

Aside from the delectable, sweet pancakes, Bubby’s also offers a wide variety of other brunch staples like chicken & pancakes with bourbon maple syrup, omelets, buttermilk biscuits, and more. After brunch, you can return to Bubby’s for dinner as well and sample their traditional American fare such as burgers, meatloaf, and mac & cheese. If you aren’t too full from your meal, Bubby’s pies are a must-try and are what originally put them on the map as one of New York City’s finest establishments. I know that I will be returning to Bubby’s in the near future to try their peanut butter chocolate or banoffee pies. If they are anything like the pancakes, I know that I will be extremely impressed. Bubby’s has left me with a constant craving for their mouthwatering pancakes, and I am sure to return time and time again. If you haven’t tried Bubby’s, you are truly missing out on the most amazing pancakes in New York City. A visit to Bubby’s really will change your life forever.

What to order: Pancake Flight
Locations: High Line- 73 Gansevoort St, Tribeca- 120 Hudson St
Transportation: High Line- Subway: A, C, E, L to 14th St, Tribeca- Subway: A, C, E to Canal St; 1 to Franklin St
Website: http://www.bubbys.com
Instagram: @bubbys

3 thoughts on “Bubbys: The Best Pancakes in NYC?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started