Pepolino: A Taste of Tuscany in NYC

Fusilli alla Checca

From the moment you approach Pepolino, you feel you are transported to the heart of Italy. Hidden behind a towering oak tree, it may be easy to miss the tiny Tribeca storefront, however when you do find the restaurant, its Tuscan charm is sure to draw you in. Its inviting al fresco tables, whimsical string lights, and adorable window flower boxes immediately make diners feel as if they strolling the streets of Florence. After climbing the stairs to the main dining room, you are met by a bubbly host whose thick Italian accent will make you seriously question whether you really are in New York City or have miraculously arrived in the Italian countryside. The exterior’s charisma is matched by the interior’s homey decor complete with wooden tables, bright windows, authentic stone floor, and a classic brick wall. Don’t be fooled though- Pepolino is more than just its cozy, Tuscan look. Its food is what truly sets the restaurant apart from the countless other Italian eateries in New York and has made it my family’s go-to dinner spot in the city.

When my family first stumbled upon Pepolino during our first trip to New York, we didn’t quite know what to expect, yet something about the restaurant’s intimate and relaxed Italian vibe drew us in. Coming in with no expectations, we were blown away by the splendor of the food and the authenticity of the experience as a whole. Since our first visit, Pepolino has become a staple in nearly every one of my family’s visits to New York, and it has continued to impress time and time again. Each time I visit the ristorante, I like to try something new to excite my taste buds and take full advantage of the sublime, Tuscan delicacies that are offered. This experimentation is made especially possible by the constant addition of new menu items and rotating specials offered by the chef. Over the past few years, I have ordered the signature dish Pappardelle al Pepolino which features a tangy tomato sauce complimented by fresh thyme, the classic Spaghettoni Chitarra Pomodoro e Basilico which puts all other versions of Spaghetti to shame with its perfect balance of flavors and spices, Fusilli al Pesto e Ricotta, a personal favorite of mine given that pesto is one of my all time favorite foods, Raviolis of the day such as Spinach and Ricotta, and most recently, Fusilli alla Checca (pictured above) which tastes even more incredible than it looks. While I never know what I may order as my entree when I first come into the restaurant, the dish I know I can look forward to each visit is the appetizer bread basket. With a variety of breads like focaccia and slices of a crusty, Italian loaf, the basket is made into perfection with the addition of a sun-dried tomato pesto that spreads beautifully across the hearty bread. It can be tempting to finish off the entire bread basket and my whole entree, however, I always save room for Pepolino’s unmatched dessert selection. With Italian classics such as Tiramisu, Panna Cotta, Creme Brulee, and Ricotta Cheesecake, my sweet tooth is always satisfied.

Since moving to New York and living so close to “Little Italy” on Arthur Ave., my favorite Italian restaurant has been put to the test. However, no matter how many “authentic” Italian trattorias I dine at, none of them compare to Pepolino. From its comforting, warm atmosphere to the unparalleled flavor combinations, Pepolino will always hold a special place in my heart. While I have never actually been to Italy, I feel that every time I step into the cozy, little ristorante in Tribeca, I am transported thousands of miles away to the Tuscan countryside. Who needs to fly all the way to Italy, when divine Tuscan cuisine is just a Subway stop away?

What to Order: Spaghettoni Chitarra Pomodoro e Basilico
Location: 281 W Broadway
Transportation: Subway- A, C, E, N, Q, R, 1, 6 to Canal St
Website: https://www.pepolino.com/
Instagram: @pepolinorestaurant

2 thoughts on “Pepolino: A Taste of Tuscany in NYC

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started