Sarabeths: The Classic NYC Brunch

Sarabeth’s is the epitome of New York City Brunch. From its airy, bright interior, buzzing atmosphere, and Insta-worthy food, it is exactly what you think of when you imagine a Sunday Girl’s Brunch. Since I had read about the restaurant’s legendary status online before I even moved to NYC last year, it was one of the first places I brunched at last fall. In the past year and a half, Sarabeth’s has become a brunch staple for my friends and I. Anytime someone comes to visit me in New York, I always makes sure to give them the classic Brunch experience you are sure to find at Sarabeth’s. Most recently, I introduced my parents to the NYC diner when they spent last weekend in the city. Fans of more classic, no frills cooking, themselves, they were impressed with Sarabeth’s homey vibe and authentic cuisine. You know a restaurant is truly a classic when Insta-savvy teens, mimosa-drinking millennials, and your parents and grandparents alike can equally enjoy their experience. Sarabeth’s goes above and beyond in fulfilling this requirement.

In the many times I have dined at Sarabeth’s, I have experimented with different entree options, vowing to never order the same thing since nearly every item on their menu sounds appetizing. However, one dish that has been a staple in each one of my visits is the Morning Fruit Bowl. At first glance, it may appear to be just an average bowl of fruit, but there is something indescribable about Sarabeth’s version. The bananas, strawberries, oranges, and grapefruit are perfectly tart and juicy, prepping your tastebuds for the sweet or savory Brunch entree that is soon to arrive. As I have said before, I am always one to order sweet Brunch meals. Lucky for me, Sarabeth’s has an entire section of their menu devoted to sweet breakfast choices. For those who prefer more savory options, though, don’t worry. There is also a wide variety of egg options, such as omelettes and an Insta-famous Eggs Benedict, as well as classic lunch options such as burgers, salads, and the “adult grilled cheese”.

On my first visit to Sarabeth’s at their Tribeca location, I was most attracted to the Almond Crusted French Toast. I had never heard of a version of French toast like this before, so I was excited to try out this updated spin on the classic Breakfast option. Drizzled with a sweet strawberry syrup, the French Toast had a unique, complex flavor and texture. Crunchy on the outside and perfectly fluffy on the inside, the French Toast was a stellar meal. The almonds added a high-end flavor with its touch of nuttiness on the eggy bread. Even though I loved the Almond Crusted French Toast, the next time I visited Sarabeth’s at their Upper East Side outpost I decided to try something new. Their Lemon Ricotta Pancakes were another reinvention of an iconic Breakfast meal, so I opted to order them my second time around. With just a hint of tart lemon, the taste of the pancakes was incredible. The addition of ricotta cheese made the cakes thick and hearty. The fresh strawberries on the side complemented the lemon tanginess nicely, making the pancakes one of the best I have ever had. During my most recent trip to Sarabeth’s, I noticed a new menu item- the Pumpkin Waffle. Since it is a seasonal special, I knew I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to order it. I was impressed with its presentation, topped strategically with pumpkin seeds, raisins, and cinnamon cream cheese. The flavor of the waffle was just as magnificent as it presentation and was perfect for the fall/winter season. Not overly pumpkin-tasting, yet still distinctly spiced, the waffle had a rich flavor that was only augmented by its toppings. The cinnamon cream cheese was especially noteworthy, as it brought out the pumpkin flavor of the waffle and added to the seasonal vibe.

No matter how many times I visit Sarabeth’s, I continue to be impressed with their picture-perfect Brunch delicacies and glamorous, yet cozy atmosphere. Every time I dine at Sarabeth’s, I feel like a true New Yorker, Sunday brunching just like my favorite TV and movie characters. Mimosas on every table, colorful plates, and well-dressed diners complete the vibe, making Sarabeth’s exactly what you picture when you think of a New York brunch. With five locations throughout New York City, the classic NYC brunch is always just a Subway ride away. Don’t miss out on taking part in the ritual that is a Sarabeth’s weekend brunch.

What to Order: Almond Crusted French Toast
Location: Central Park South- 40 Central Park South, Upper East Side- 1295 Madison Ave, Upper West Side- 432 Amsterdam Ave, Tribeca- 339 Greenwich St, Park Ave South- 381 Park Ave South
Transportation: Central Park South- N, R, W to 5th Ave, F, M to 57th St, Upper East Side- Q, 4, 6 to 96th St, , Upper West Side- 1 to 79th St, Tribeca- 1, 2, 3 to Chambers St, Park Ave South- 4, 6, to 28th St
Website: www.sarabethsrestaurants.com
Instagram: @sarabethsnyc

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started